The Last Day

This post was written as part of the 100 Word Challenge for Grown-Ups over at Julia’s place.

After
Sirens screamed. Birds fell silent. The sky turned red, then black as ash started to fall. Darkness came. Streets filled with people, unsure where to go or what to do. The looting started. Then the fighting: best friends, brothers, fathers and sons.

Those who died that day were the lucky ones. For the rest a slower death awaited: cold, hunger, sickness.

Before
The president regarded his horror-struck staff, who were backing towards the door, desperately awaiting his order to evacuate to the underground bunker. “I had no choice! They threatened us!” He took his finger off the red button. “It wasn’t my fault.”

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Last Day

  1. Chilling! You drew frightening details out of a frightening scenario.

  2. Chilling piece. How I hope and pray that this doesn’t happen. Scary to think one man has so much power.

  3. IsobelandCat says:

    Doesn’t the buck stop with the president?
    Nice piece. I like the way you have structured it with after coming first, ahead of before.

  4. healthfulmomma says:

    ooh – this is very scary, and so easy to imagaine.

  5. jonesingafter40 says:

    This gave me chills…

  6. gsussex says:

    Powerful, great description and the ultimate action! Great job!

  7. DancingInTheRain says:

    Very well done. I generally don’t like reading horror stories or unpleasant stuff (too scary) but that doesn’t deter from your skill in describing both the situation and the human reaction,

  8. Lynda says:

    A great entry this week. I loved the ‘after’ coming before the ‘before’ as it built up the suspense. Excellent!

  9. Judee says:

    Oh my worst case scenario. Very effective description of the aftermath.

  10. rogerdengle says:

    I agree with Lynda in that you chose well by putting the aftermath scene first to build suspense. I would also say chilling, but I try to avoid being overly redundant. Good job, SJB!

  11. GoofyJ says:

    Fabulous job – a powerful (and chilling) piece to read. Great job in hooking us with that opening scene – I liked the reversal.

  12. Oh S-J – that is really good, but also very creepy!! I literally had goosebumps (only just going down now!) What a ghastly, terrible scenario. And all too realistic (though mercifully less likely under Obama than Bush!!) Very good piece indeed.

    PS Thanks for your comment on mine, which must have come minutes after I posted my second entry! I have actually now posted a third alongside the second one, if you have a moment to spare!

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.