The Sparkler

The diamond sparkled as much as the lights on the Christmas tree, but less than lights in his eyes. “Marry me,” he murmured, pressing his lips against her shoulder.

She held her breath, then closed her eyes so as not to see the hurt in his. “I’m sorry. I can’t.”

This post is part of the 100 (50-50 this week!) Word Challenge for Grown-Ups at Julia’s Place.

There’s a part 2 at the Ventahl theatre and a different part two at Fragments from Firefly Phil.

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Sparkler

  1. Janece says:

    ohhhhh this is awesome! I need to check out this weeks’ challenge…it’s going to be so fun!! 🙂

  2. Oh! I always wonder how a man can get tot he buying a diamond stage and not know her answer in advance. Must be a secret mystery lurking in the background methinks…

  3. Alison Green says:

    This can’t end well… a beautifully constructed starter. I’m going to find it really hard to choose the piece for my second fifty words.

  4. gsussex says:

    What an ending to part one Sally-Jayne! Oh my, one gutted guy and I wonder what more will unfold/why she said no?! Have a great Christmas! Gx

  5. I was thinking along similar lines with the first one I did; I love the way you have written this. How will it all end…?

  6. DancingInTheRain says:

    So few words yet such potential sadness – and on Christmas too – oh dear!

  7. jfb57 says:

    Oh no! Now why did she say that? This could go in so many different directions & that is what makes it so brilliant! Off to read some part twos!!

  8. snagglewordz says:

    Ooooh, another goodie! Intriguing, because she’s known him long enough to know he’ll be hurt by her answer. Looking forward to reading the part twos.

  9. Ross Mannell says:

    Great beginning as it leaves a number of possible directions the story can continue. 🙂

  10. GoofyJ says:

    I was late getting it done, but here is my ending to your beginning 🙂

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.