Baking Day

“You said you’d do WHAT?”

“Not me. You. I said you’d do it.”

Tammy’s knitting needles clicked faster.

“Me? You have no right to make promises on my behalf.”

“Well…I just thought…you’ve always said you like baking…and..well…now you’re retired you’ve got plenty of time on your hands.”

She said nothing, but her hands tightened on the needles and they clicked faster still.

“They’ve been let down at the last minute. They need 300 cupcakes for tomorrow and I promised them you’d do it.”

She cast off and flung the 100th sock – his last idea to help fill her retirement – and headed for the kitchen in silence.

This is part of the 100 Word Challenge for Grown-Ups at Julia’s Place.

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Baking Day

  1. Hahahaha this made me laugh out loud; I could feel the tension in the air between them.
    Nicely done.
    Better busy than bored, but…

  2. Oh no! I felt so annoyed for her – I would be so angry if that was done to me. 300 cupcakes – hope she has a large oven!

  3. Miriam says:

    Poor Tammy! He probably doesn’t believe that she only wants to write. Nice piece.

  4. Mayumi-H says:

    I love the frantic feel of those clicking needles – they say so much with so little. Great detail about the 100th sock, too. Tammy’s husband had better be careful with his next suggestion…! 😀

    • Sally-Jayne says:

      Thanks – it took me a while to think of a way to show her barely-controlled anger. I agree – any more suggestions like this and he could feel the wrath of those needles.

  5. I’m amazed she complied – says a lot about their relationship maybe? Bet her ‘tension’ went all to pot…

  6. http://thevoiceofsarahmiles.com says:

    That’s a lot of cake! I love the way others volunteer on somebody else’s behalf! So presumptious!

  7. Taochild says:

    I can already tell she can handle it haha

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

