Merry Christmouse

‘Twas the night before Christmas and all through the house
Not a creature was stirring…except for the mouse.
While the family was sleeping he regarded with glee
The brightly wrapped presents piled under the tree.
He supposed that he shouldn’t, but knew that he would…
Said, “Santa, I’m sorry. It’s too hard to be good.”
He ripped off the paper, he gnawed through a box,
He drank all the perfume; he ate all the socks.
He lapped up the liquors, he boozed up the beer
Then lay there contented and filled with good cheer.
Christmas treeHe chewed through some wires and BANG! went the lights.
“My God,” said the mouse, “that gave me a fright.”
He scampered and hid in a hole in the sill
But nobody moved – the family slept still.
So he crept out and sipped at the wine and the sherry.
He tasted the Port and it made him feel merry.
Two glasses later and feeling quite lairy,
He climbed up the tree and toppled the fairy.
He leaped for a bauble, but teetered and missed.
“Oops!” said the mouse. “I think I’m a bit drunk.”
Covered in glitter he fell to the ground,
And stared in horror at the mess all around.
Tinsel and ribbons were strewn on the floor,
Mulled wine and whisky were splashed up the door,
The wrappings were shredded, the baubles were cracked,
The lights were still smoking, the ceiling was black.
Eyes wide he wondered, “Did I do all that?”
Then shrugged… “It’s no problem. They’ll just blame the cat.”

This was written as part of the 100 word challenge at Julia’s Place – although I have completely disregarded the 100 word limit. It might put me on Santa’s naughty list…it will definitely put me on Julia’s naughty list…but I don’t care!  Merry Christmouse everyone 🙂

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Merry Christmouse

  1. Very good poem! Poor mouse getting abit tipsy lol brilliant

  2. OIMG – that was terrific.

    I laughed a lot!
    10 Minutes!!!!!!!!
    You’re a genius!!!!!

    Just one line
    “He leaped for a bauble, but teetered and missed.
    “Oops!” said the mouse. “I think I’m a bit drunk.”

    Did you mean drunk – as it did not rhyme – perhaps “pissed”

    “He leaped for a bauble, but teetered and missed.
    “Oops!” said the mouse. “I think I’m a bit pissed.”

    No matter what –

    It was great.
    Randy

  3. Hahaha – You only get 50 words next week! Love the poem though, well done. Have a wonderfully festive day. xxx

  4. That was HILARIOUS! I don’t care how many words you used – this is great, and the last line makes it perfect. 😀

  5. Taochild says:

    I was tempted to let lose too and ram past the 100 words, but I forced myself to behave. But this would have blown my creation away anyway. Loved it!!

  6. I really enjoyed this. Nice to see some “old” friends here (Randy & myothervoices). I put in a link that’s also a riff on the same poem, a 100-word submission for another weekly writing, so hopefully you’ll enjoy it as much as I enjoyed this.

    janet

  7. Mayumi-H says:

    Love this! Your intrepid little boozer of a mouse totally made my morning with some much-needed laughter. 🙂

  8. haha brilliant 😀 Loved this.
    Haven’t done much writing these last few weeks- must try harder
    Happy New Year x

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

