Promises

There’s a definite Christmassy-thing going on on my other blog, so if you’ve ever wondered how they celebrate Christmas in other countries, pop over to SJB Teaching and have a look. There are four countries so far with more to come before Christmas.

Now for the challenge based on a prompt at Julia’s Place.

“Don’t worry. They worked when I put them away so there can’t be much wrong with them.” Sam unscrewed the next bulb and retested the circuit.
“Sam, I want a divorce.”
“What – just because the lights don’t work?”
“No Sam. I want a divorce because you truly believe I’m asking for one because the lights don’t work. I just can’t cope with your oddness anymore.”
Sam replaced the bulb and patiently unscrewed the next. “Don’t leave me! I love you! I’ll change. I promise.”

Jenny reread her text through a blur of tears and pressed send. “I can’t leave him this year. Next year – I promise.”

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Promises

  1. JazzBumpa says:

    Instead of an angel, Jenny should put a triangle on top of her tree.

    Cheers!
    JzB

  2. I feel a bit sorry for Sam; he is doing the never wanted job of light testing!
    I’m still thinking on this one…

  3. brudberg says:

    I am sure it had to do with leaving the toilet ring up.

  4. Delft says:

    Promises, indeed.
    I like the way the conversation twists away from what she really wanted to say.

  5. yerpirate says:

    It really is terrible tragedy, how people leave each other so easily. In these simple words lie heartbreak..but for once my sympathies do not entirely lie with the woman here..

  6. This was a very sad piece of writing, but I suspect, an act being played out in many homes at Christmas time. Very emotional snapshot of a love triangle.

  7. http://thevoiceofsarahmiles.com says:

    I thought this was quirky and complex – well done!

  8. Mayumi-H says:

    The oddities of the conversation – and all the words unspoken – are quite heartbreaking. I had to read it a few times just to pull everything in. Poor Jenny, poor Sam. Both shoulder some of the blame, it seems…yet, how long can they delay what seems to be inevitable? Complicated, but well done.

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

