Shades of Grey

Grey is ugly. Drab. Dismal. The colour of my heart. The colour of the ashes I came here to scatter.

Some fall into the river, settling on the surface for a moment before the current swirls them away, towards the sea and all those places we will never visit together. The biting wind whips the rest from my hands, blowing them who-knows-where.

Beaming, Nathan leans over the side of the boat, and points. “Look! Daddy was in that box, but now he’s everywhere!”

I take his hand and my heart floods with love. Grey is ugly. But it makes everything else more beautiful.

This post was written as part of the 100 word challenge for grown ups at Julia’s Place.

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Shades of Grey

  1. Nice grey, touching, sad, loving, goodbye story creating a colorful end. Randy

  2. Delft says:

    Moving. “now he’s everywhere!” Great writing!

  3. jeanelaine says:

    I read this piece not once, or twice but three times. I loved the poetic rhythm of the short story, and the innocence of a child in the face of grief. Beautifully told.

  4. JazzBumpa says:

    Touching and sad.
    Cheers!
    JzB

  5. Mayumi-H says:

    This, too, is a lovely interpretation of grey, Sally-Jayne. So often, we dwell on what’s gloomy in these situations. I love that Nathan manages to see the beauty in the moment.

    I love that second paragraph in particular – the details of “all those places” really shows through.

    Well done!

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

