The Silence was Deafening

Last night I read this blog post from MidlifeSingleM and watched the accompanying video.

The scene opened with the sounds of fun and frivolity, and my husband asked why on earth I was listening to the Okey Cokey at my age. I restarted the video and invited him to watch it with me. We sat together, holding hands, heads touching, not speaking.

Children’s party sounds quickly changed to screams. A 15 second countdown appeared on screen, showing just how little time there was to get to safety. Then followed explosions, thick smoke and scenes of devastation.

When the video ended the silence was deafening.

To see how other people interpreted the prompt, visit 100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups at Julia’s Place.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Silence was Deafening

  1. wow powerful stuff- just watched it 😦

  2. Mayumi-H says:

    Even though the context is horrifying and terrifying (the video expresses such feelings better than I could do), the simplicity and honesty of your words has a deep beauty to it. That “We sat together…” sentence makes me tear up even as I write this comment. Sad yet still inspiring, Sally-Jayne. Thanks for sharing this.

  3. Jeanelaine says:

    Wow, unnerving to say the least. Great piece. I read it twice and I’m still thinking about it, yeah unnerving for sure. http://jemcogdell.blogspot.com/2012/11/bump-in-night.html

  4. Lucid Gypsy says:

    Sally-Jayne thank you 😦

  5. Thank you for understanding Sally-Jayne. It is a powerful video – I sob every time I watch it. Let’s hope and pray that this is over quickly.

  6. So moving. It’s just awful for them. I couldn’t bring myself to write anything this week.

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

