It’s a Cat’s Life

This post was written as part of the 100 word challenge at Julia’s Place.

What a catastrophe. I knew Tom was going to be there, and I wanted to be a real glamourpuss – I was thinking Pussy Galore meets Princess Catherine.I pawed over the outfits in the catalogue before selecting this one on the advice of my sister.

I felt like the cat’s whiskers when I walked into that room…until I heard the sniggering and saw Kitty looking like the cat that got the cream. I should have known – she’s always been a bit catty and she’s been dying to get her claws into Tom since forever.

I was so not amewsed.

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to It’s a Cat’s Life

  1. Mayumi-H says:

    Your narrator may have not been “amewsed” by this, Sally-Jayne, but I certainly was! 😀 Love your use of all those feline references. Very original!

  2. Delft says:

    I feel a cat fight coming up!

  3. Sally says:

    Clever use of words – I enjoyed reading this.

  4. ventahl says:

    Groan! Enough deliberate cliched puns to get me reaching for the hose pipe! But a record breaking attempt, nonetheless! I counted 12 references at least. Tom! He couldn’t be called anything else! Concatulations, Rumpleteaser ;D

  5. this was mewsic to my ears! Very cute…. from Puss in Boots.

  6. Wendy says:

    Love this play on words. I don’t read other posts until I’ve written mine, so I don’t get swayed. I think we both were having a swing at sisters!

  7. Tanner says:

    Oh I love the ‘amewsed’. Great take on the picture – definitely cat & cream!!

  8. Ross Mannell says:

    All is not well in the cat family. It seems jealousy has been at work from a sister a little too attracted to Tom. 🙂

  9. Groan! No, it made me laugh really! Well done for getting so many cat references in to the piece – I almost missed a couple! I was amewsed 😉

  10. Gilly Gee says:

    What a brilliant gathering of catecisms! I think Tom has made a big mistake 😉

  11. Punny. Very, verrry punny.

    You left me grinning 😀

  12. Very clever indeed – and so amewsing. I love the way you have included so many of the words that we use every day and are actually related to cats in one way or another. Great take on the prompt 🙂

  13. Love the use of all the cat words. Very clever!

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

