There’s a Real Buzz About This Place

This post was written for the 100 Word Challenge at Julia’s Place.  Anyone who has seen my tweets in the last couple of days will know that I really witnessed this phenomenon. Apologies again for not having had time to comment these last couple of weeks. It’s been a difficult time for my family.  Thank you to everyone who left messages of support last week – I really appreciated it. I’m back up and running now and will read and comment on as many pieces as I can.

***

Yesterday a wall flew down our street. Yes, I was surprised as well. Especially as walls are silent and this one sounded like a motorbike rally. As it got closer I realised that each brick was the size of a penny, and the buzzing was thousands of tiny wings beating in harmony.

The tree opposite now has a pulsating mass hanging from it. I think the bees are sleeping, but I know at some point they will leave. Having announced their arrival in such spectacular fashion, I suspect they won’t be sneaking away in twos and threes when they go.

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to There’s a Real Buzz About This Place

  1. gsussex says:

    We have gone for the same buzzing, but a different angle! http://wp.me/p1COqs-fr
    Enjoyed yours, the silent wall . . . Hope things continue to improve/be better re. family G x

  2. It’s quite alarming when a swarm of bees is heading your way isn’t it! Love your use of metaphor.
    They say that a swarm of bees wont harm you and that you can even put your hand into one. Hmm, not so sure that I would try that.
    Hope they find a new home soon!
    Good to see you writing again; hope you are feeling OK x

    • sjbwriting says:

      Saw one a few years ago that was even bigger than this one – they rose from the ground and funneled into the sky. It looked like a tornado. I really wouldn’t have fancied standing out in it to put your theory to the test though!

  3. What a superb take and an irresistible opening line. A swarm must be quite a sight. Wishing you a hope and courage in your trials.

    • sjbwriting says:

      Thanks. It really is an amazing sight. I’ve been lucky enough to see two in my lifetime, although I enjoyed watching this from my window far more than having to drive through the first one!

  4. That was such a great take on the prompt. I had such a clear image of the swarm in my mind.

  5. Emma says:

    Hope my little buzz buzz buzz doesn’t become this!

  6. Sandra says:

    Good one. I’ve never seen that, but it must be truly staggering. Well done.

  7. Gilly Gee says:

    Perfect timing! your story has made me buzz 🙂

  8. jfb57 says:

    Gosh! That must have been quite scary. They do look very organised when they are moving like that but they have provided you with the ideal theme for this week’s prompt. Good to have you back Sally-Jayne!

  9. Wall or swarm – I wouldn’t stand in its way! Very vivid.

  10. Taochild says:

    Sounds extraordinary! Something that I would like to have witnessed. Yet in a way I just did. Nicely done!

  11. Wow, that really happened? I think I’d be terrified! Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my blog – I’m glad you enjoyed my story too! Going to go back and read some of your earlier posts now too.

  12. Brian Benoit says:

    I like this, the voice of it — and of course the mystery of what exactly those bees are doing there. Nice work!

  13. DancingInTheRain) says:

    Nicely written, SJ. I don’t think I would be trusting enough to remain outside. Sorry to hear that you’ve had more family concerns since we last corresponded xx

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

