The Queen and You

First of all, apologies for not having read and commented on the entries from last week. I’ve spent most of the last week at my lovely Nan’s, sitting at her bedside and holding her hand. She’d been ill for a while and yesterday she passed away, leaving a big hole in the lives of many people. This is my 100WCGU and a tribute to a special lady. Apologies in advance if I don’t read anyone’s writing this week. I hope you will understand.  I promise to be back to normal with reading and commenting from the next prompt.

My Nan
1925 – 2012

Same age as the Queen, Nan –
births just a year apart;
lives a whole world apart.

No white, church wedding for you, Nan,
just Sunday best in the register office
and back home afterwards.

A back-to-back was your palace, Nan –
shared toilet and washroom outside –
but you kept the place spick and span.

No servants for you, Nan –
your Arthur used to polish the brasses,
and your daughter washed and ironed.

Mom, Nan and me

Mom, Nan and me

No life of luxury for you, Nan –
a shop job to make ends meet,
and groceries on the slate.

You were so excited about the Jubilee, Nan.
I wish you had lived to see it,
but while the world celebrates a monarch’s life
our family will gather to mourn your death.

The Queen’s light is shining longer, Nan,
but to me yours shone brighter.

This entry was posted in Family Life, Poetry, Poetry for KS3 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The Queen and You

  1. S-J, that is a beautiful tribute to your Nan . I am wiping away the tears as I write this; it was so moving and obviously written from your heart xx

  2. liz2you says:

    May your Nan’s light shine forever in your heart and those who knew, respected and loved her.
    I believe it will.
    In every face there is a story to tell. In every life, a face that shines out. Tell it!
    Liz

  3. This is lovely – a wonderful tribute to your Nan. There are more like Nan in the UK than like the Queen. I’m so sorry for your loss. xxx

  4. Delft says:

    My heartfelt condolences. Truly a special tribute to a special person.

  5. I’m so very sorry to hear of your grandmother’s death. That was a lovely tribute to her and very cleverly entwined with the Jubilee.

  6. Taochild says:

    Very moving! Sorrow for your loss …

  7. My condolences. Very sorry to hear about your loss.

  8. This was a great poem. Very heartfelt, a wonderful way to pay tribute to a loved relative.

  9. jfb57 says:

    This is a story about a very special person and you are SO lucky to have shared her life. I would love to have been in the room with Nan & the Queen. What stories they would have shared! Thank you for joining this special prompt at such a sad time for you.x

  10. Gilly Gee says:

    I’m so sorry, you have made me cry too. I’m sure your nan was very proud of you. A lovely tribute.

  11. sjbwriting says:

    Thank you so much for your lovely comments everyone. I miss her lots, but I do have some lovely memories that I shall be able to hold onto forever.

  12. What a beautiful tribute to a lovely sounding woman. x

  13. Louise says:

    What a beautiful poem for a very special person.

  14. bittercharm says:

    A true queen indeed… M so sorry for your loss, May she rest in peace.

  15. Mayumi-H says:

    This is so very lovely. It’s obvious how touched you were by her life and accomplishments.
    Very sorry for your loss.

  16. Sally says:

    Such a lovely tribute with beautiful words to celebrate the life of a loved one.

  17. Sandra Fine says:

    What a beautiful piece of writing and a fitting tribute to someone you loved deeply. I am wiping away the tears in my eyes as I remember my nan who I loved to bits, and also my own mum, only a couple of years younger than Her Maj, and a lady much loved by my own daughters. I know that, although you are sad now, you will remember your nan in the future with much happiness.

  18. KP says:

    Nice way to remember your nan. My mother passed on 1st June, She missed the big ‘do’, too.

  19. fireflyphil says:

    That’s a beautiful tribute and a powerful answer to the prompt. Every sympathy – and well done!

  20. A fine and beautiful tribute to a wonderful grandmother. May she rest in peace. My belated condolencies on your loss, SJB.

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

