Yet Another Scandal

This post was written as part of the 100 word challenge for grown ups over at Julia’s Place.

I wrote to my mother to ask whether those enormous, yellow apples in my garden are poisonous – she knows more about that sort of thing than me. I only wanted to know because I was planning to cook apple pie for my anniversary dinner.

Jacob and Wilhelm* intercepted the letter – far too concerned with building their empire than with the small matters of truth and ethics – and they took the liberty of twisting my words for their own personal gain. If they were alive today they’d be at the centre of a phone hacking scandal.

The truth is: I did not attempt to murder Snow-White.

* for those less keen on fairy tales than me, these are the first names of the men better known as The Brothers Grimm.

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Yet Another Scandal

  1. I just love this. Had to read it twice to get the full import. Makes me ashamed to be a hack!!

  2. Very clever! So that’s how they were inspired for their story writing. Good job she phoned her mum to double check.

  3. Impure Genius says:

    He he – a lovely take

  4. Sandra says:

    That was a highly original take on the prompt. In fact I’d go so far as to say ingenious! I hardly noticed the inclusion of the prompt words. Well done.

  5. the dotterel says:

    … of course you didn’t! But then, anniversary apple-pie isn’t so good a story, is it? I like the Grimm’s spin!

  6. Excellent, thoroughly enjoyed this!

  7. Louise says:

    Just love it 🙂

  8. Jean Mishra says:

    I love a new twists to an old classic. I really enjoyed this!

  9. Gilly Gee says:

    Ah brilliant I love fairy tales and the archetypes they symbolise!

  10. Fab idea; writing from a different point of view is such a fun way to approach it. I am still idea-less at the mo; started a few which were not great! Maybe later in the week.
    Love how this mixes history with bang-up-to-the-minute news 😀

  11. I love this one! Those brothers, always taking such a grimm view of things…

  12. Delft says:

    It does make one hope the brothers were at the dinner and ate the pie.
    Love it.

  13. I love this. The idea feels so original and you wove the tale so well. Wonderful!

  14. sjbwriting says:

    Thanks for taking the time to read and comment everyone.

  15. gsussex says:

    Clever angle! Like the seriousness with fairy tale linkage

  16. DancingInTheRain says:

    Very clever indeed. And what an unusual idea. I’ve read it 3 times at least. Well done!

    (I only got an idea on Saturday but forgot to send it on to Midlife until Sunday – and so it never got posted!! Was sorry really – finally a story about hubby’s skills which portrays how even he can sometimes recognise his limitations!)

    • sjbwriting says:

      You’ll have to get her to post it anyway, even if though it’s to late to put it on the linky list. Let me have the link and I’ll come and read it 🙂

      • DancingInTheRain says:

        You’re a star – but it’s a no-go, I’m afraid. She explained that it would ruin her blog averages at this late stage – or such like. Something to do with the number of readers versus number of posts, and making it to a top list. I don’t really agree with blogging being a competition, but not being a blogger, I shouldn’t really comment. I might feel differently if I had my own blog. How do you feel about blogging competitiveness?

        • sjbwriting says:

          For me blogging is a bit of fun, and if I turned it into a competition it wouldn’t be fun any more. But I guess if we all had the same attitude to everything the world would be a boring place.

          I like to check my stats to see if people do read what I write, but I’m just as happy with one reader as I would be with 1000 (if I ever got that many)!

          If ever you’re too late for Midlife’s blog you’re welcome to post on mine (as long as she wouldn’t mind – don’t want to upset anyone). I know sometimes inspiration stikes late for us all. I can post anytime coz I don’t have a blogging reputation to be ruined…

          • DancingInTheRain says:

            Yes – you’re totally right about it being boring if everyone were the same. 🙂
            I didn’t know if it was a sort of blogging rule, if you see what I mean.
            Thank you so much for offering to host my 100wc posts. That is really very kind of you. As it happens, Julia actually has a solution for The Blogless so in future, if and when things don’t work out with Rachel, I’ll go down that route. Not this time though I think – we’re already onto the flickering flamethere any oway u can get to read it
            Is there another

          • DancingInTheRain says:

            Sorry – it sort of took off in mid-sentence.
            I was going to say that if you can think of any other suitable technology for me to send you the post, I will. Can one send 100 words via Twitter?
            I see you work a lot with children. Do you work from home as a teacher/tutor or in a school framework?

          • sjbwriting says:

            If you follow me on Twitter (@sjbteaching) I’ll DM an email address you could send the piece too – would love to read it after you made the effort to write it.

            I work as a freelance teacher/tutor/lecturer so do supply teaching in schools, private tutoring in people’s homes and teaching post-grads at a local university – so full age range from 3 – 21+ ! I like a bit of variety!

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

