Stage Crew

We stare in silent disbelief from truck to set. The van it arrived on was bigger. Screwdrivers come out, flats are dismantled, cloths are folded and refolded. The lorry is looking full; unfortunately the stage still does too.

“It’s never going to fit,” we worry to each other.  The castle turrets are cylindrical – nothing we can do to flatten them. We balance them on top.

“It’s all in!” We slam the doors shut, three of us leaning against them while we fasten the padlock. The truck goes.

We stare in silent disbelief. There, centre stage, mocking us – the Ruby Slippers.

This post was written as part of the 100 word challenge for grown ups over at Julia’s Place.  This really is how I spent my Saturday night from 10pm onwards… Never seen so much stuff go in such a small van.

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Stage Crew

  1. Like it…and like your inspiration too. Great minds (read mine and you’ll see what I mean!).
    As always you come up trumps. Pain the linky isn’t working at the mo; I am searching through to find the “regulars” !

  2. Sandra says:

    That’s an original take on the prompt. Really good!

  3. Encore. Encore. That was great. I can picture their frustrated faces on seeing the shoes.

  4. I love slices of life like this. I felt like I was there. And I love how you ended it. (I’ve been mocked like that, too.)

  5. Click the heels together three times and they’ll go home on their own, won’t they?

    • ventahl says:

      LOL. Only if someone’s wearing them. They seem to be there for a reason, too, like they’ve just appeared. Maybe the theatre was someone else’s ‘No place like home’? ps ‘Never seen so much stuff go in such a small van.’ Guess Matt Smith and David Tennent were driving …

  6. Gilly Gee says:

    Oh this is perfect Sally-Jayne because I didn’t see it coming! So did you get to wear the ruby slippers in the performance?

  7. DancingInTheRain says:

    I loved this Sally-Jayne. So realistic and well-written that I found myself holding my breath together with you – not to mention that I’ve always had a penchant ffor amateur dramatics. And the ruby slippers – did you pop them meanwhile in your handbag? (good job it wasn’t a pair of wellies). Well done!

  8. Mayumi says:

    Ah, this truly takes me back to my theatre days at uni! 😀 And I love how those ruby slippers mock those techies, so. (How dare they?!)

    So lively, and great description!

  9. Nice write – hope youll stop by my blog and read my entry. My first attempt ate the challenge.
    Thanks,
    Isadora
    http://insidethemindofisadora.wordpress.com/2012/05/02/ruby/

  10. snellopy says:

    Nice, I always forget something when I’m packing for holidays

  11. Sally-Jayne says:

    Thanks for the comments everyone. I didn’t wear the shoes myself – I’m strictly an “unpack it at the start and repack it at the end” girl.

  12. What an original take on the prompt. Love it, you got so much in with so little words x

  13. Delft says:

    I like the mocking slippers. Gives a sense of how particularly stupid we feel when we’ve overlooked the blindingly obvious.

  14. jfb57 says:

    Is that THE ruby slippers? Oh I wish. *tap tap heels!*

  15. snagglewordz says:

    Hahaha, would love to see a photo of that van. At least you can put the ruby slippers on and tap the heels. 😉 Great imagery!

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

