Till Death Do Us Part

He had loved her once, he was sure. He couldn’t remember why. He should have left the first time she cheated. He’d tried to so many times since, but she always begged: “Don’t leave me Eddy. Purleeeeze.” And he always stayed.

It didn’t matter now. The hiss of the respirator had stopped. The steady beep of the heart monitor had fallen silent. She was gone. No more pleading. He turned away.

From behind him came a “beep beep hiss”. The life support machine.  “But I turned it off…” he whimpered, turning back.

A hand shot out and clamped his wrist. “Don’t leave me Eddy. Purleeeeze!”

This post was written as part of the 100 word challenge for grown ups a Julia’s Place.

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Till Death Do Us Part

  1. There’s no escape for Eddy, I think he’s stuck with her forever! Even when he thought she was gone, she still cried out: don’t leave me Eddy, Purleeze…! Nice piece!

  2. Chilling stuff. That actually gave me the shivers. And that’s no mean feat as I’ve read all of Stephen King’s books.
    An exceptional piece.

  3. buddhafulkat says:

    Oooh, this one gave me chills. Well done!

  4. Love it! Very powerful. The ending literally made me jump!

  5. Judee says:

    Very creative! And what an eerie ending – scary stuff here, yet a touch of humor in it. I loved the use of the prompt, and her “Purleeeze!”

  6. enterprisegran says:

    Wow! That was a great read with a totally unexpected ending. Well written!

  7. Mayumi says:

    I love the way this is almost like a horror story! 😀 Nice reveal at the end!

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

