Horse Number 36

There had been something wrong with all of them: too high, too cramped…  Now he glared at the eager, young designer in front of him.

“Did you fully understand the brief?

“Yes Sir!”

“Then would you care to explain…this?”

“Sir – I thought plenty of hand and foot holds to help them climb up, and plenty of things to hold onto for the journey.”

“You don’t think it’s too open? You don’t think people might notice a bunch of soldiers hanging around inside this?  GET OUT!”

Wearily, Odysseus tossed the latest design for his Trojan Horse idea onto the reject pile.

This post was written as part of the 100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups at Julia’s Place.

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Horse Number 36

  1. Taochild says:

    Seems this image conjures up myth and mysticism for many! Love it!

  2. jfb57 says:

    That is SO funny! Brilliant!

  3. Haha, poor Odysseus. I’m quite sure that the final design wasn’t thought up in one go! Love the idea that this could have been a prototype…they probably were a lot skinnier than modern day people but to be concealed in that would be really pushing it. Well done for injecting some humour into this 😀

    • sjbwriting says:

      Thanks Anna. I’m not sure what it was about it that reminded me of the Trojan Horse. You’re right – it definitely would have been a squeeze in this one.

  4. Sue says:

    Nice one SJ. Had to read it twice as I kept getting all mixed up, but that’s just me! I like it and love the pic 🙂

  5. Judee says:

    Ha, a fun new take on the Trojan Horse. This was a good one, nice touch of humor, lol.

  6. ventahl says:

    Good one, akin to the merlin one i read earlier. Always seems to add gravitas to a piece when characters are lifted from folklore or history. What would they have thought or done at that time? Wonder if there are anymore trojans out there in the list?

  7. susankmann says:

    Love it, this is hilarious. x

  8. Ha! Great minds really do think alike, Sally Jane! I love your take on it!

  9. Brilliant, Sally J! It made me laugh. Poor old Odysseus.
    Wonder how many go’s it did take him!
    Hope this one didn’t get thrown away!

  10. Bod for tea says:

    He he, what a great take on the prompt! I never would have come up with something so witty, great work 😀

  11. DancingInTheRain says:

    Hi Sally-Jayne, I absolutely love this. So amusing and such fun. History in present-day speech. So sarcastic. Poor Odysseus – a bit slow, perhaps? Well-written too.

  12. My first thought was to do the Trojan horse. Glad I didn’t. You’ve done it so much better than I would have!

  13. Mari says:

    Oh that did make me smile, brilliant interpretation of the prompt

  14. Isaac says:

    Excellent. Great fun!!

  15. I wonder how the world would have changed if this was the Trojan horse. 😉

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

