Take a Leap of Faith

She studied the letter from the university for the hundredth time. She had a definite offer for the course, and it was something she’d been thinking about for such a long time. But she might not pass, and there was no guarantee of a job at the end of it even if she did. Her current job paid well, and she was good at it, but she didn’t enjoy it anymore. Should she risk it? She decided.

She placed her letter of resignation on the boss’s desk, put her coat on and walked out the door. She never looked back.

This post is part of the 100 Word Challenge at Julia’s Place.

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Take a Leap of Faith

  1. Obviously the right decision was made – phew!

  2. One of life’s big decisions. I bet she didn’t regret it! Excellent SJ 🙂

  3. jfb57 says:

    Lovely start to this week’s contributions! I’m sure we all have one of those in us. Do try to link to 29thFeb.net if you are able.

  4. Taochild says:

    This resonates nicely because I have sort of been through decisions like that. Great entry!!

  5. Great piece. It felt good handing my notice in and going back to Uni as a mature student.

  6. Written from the heart. Some of the best things turn out due to those leaps of faith. Those niggling thoughts of self doubt conveyed so well.
    As always, a pleasure to read your post.

  7. This takes me back, made a similar decision! It was a girl rather than a job holding me back though! Great piece, thanks.

  8. Deirdre says:

    This is lovely! It captures that crucial moment perfectly – and very happy to hear it all worked out! Decision making is such a tricky thing!

  9. Snellopy says:

    I agree, often its better to try something new. Too many people complain that they’re stuck in a rut but then don’t do anything about it.

  10. Jonesingafter40 says:

    “She never looked back.” No regrets just moving forward. Loved it.

  11. IsobelandCat says:

    As someone else who has done the deep breath, resign and step out into the light, I enjoyed this. I think the last sentence weakens it, though I am not sure why.

    • sjbwriting says:

      I see what you mean about the last sentence. When I wrote it I meant in the literal sense (she didn’t even look back to see what reaction her letter got), but can see that most people would read in a a broader sense (she was happy with her choice and had no regrets). Maybe I should delete it and add “without a backward glance” to the end of the sentence before.

      • ventahl says:

        Yep, “without a backward glance” IS better. Judging by all comments, her decision was one most would support and assume she succeeded. Not always the case, though. More likely it takes several of these instances to find your true calling, perhaps going through a number of jobs you hate/are not good at/were sacked from to find the one right for you. I think she’ll give her new course a good go but is it a ‘grass is greener’ situation? Could be darkly ironic in a couple of years. And would she make the same choice with family to support? I’d be willing to bet shes not the sole breadwinner or a single mum with kids. But the rub is that you’d never know unless you tried. Do you follow your dreams in spite of your family or because of them?

  12. gsussex says:

    I’m pleased you took the leap! Can see the issues and pleased no regrets : )

  13. Great piece Sally-J. It does take courage to do something like that, but those that risk the most gain the most! I agree with the comment above about the last sentence. I think it should be all forward looking/thinking rather than any mention of what is left behind somehow. But it’s still great as it is!

  14. Mari says:

    Good for her! I’m so pleased she decided to go ahead

  15. Good for her. It takes a lot of courage to do something like that. Nice!

  16. susankmann says:

    Love this piece, written from the heart xx

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

