To Risk or Not to Risk?

He locked eyes with his opponent, looking for some tell-tale twitch. Nothing.  He considered his own cards. They were good, but were they good enough? The pot on the table seemed to mock him.

Beads of perspiration broke out on his forehead. To risk or not to risk? Nervously, he lay down his cards. Four tens. Holding his breath, he waited, staring at the backs of his opponent’s cards. It all depended now on the flip side of those cards.

His teenage son threw down four jacks, whooped with joy and scooped up the pot – all £1.97p of it!

This post is part of the 100 word challenge for grown ups at Julia’s Place.

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to To Risk or Not to Risk?

  1. LOL – we used to play pontoon for matchsticks but it was equally as tense.

  2. Him Up North says:

    Haha! It’s like a scene from The Sting. In our house we play for Haribo… Lovely piece.

  3. Brilliant! That much winnings eh! I love that you have taken it literally & so quick!

  4. Taochild says:

    Nice! Definitely can visualize being in that seat! Just finished mine too! Gonna be on top of the list for a change if I manage to remember to put it there haha.

  5. I’ve never been good at poker. I won’t even play for money — just chips! This reminds me of playing with my brother when we were younger.

  6. This is so well observed- I have seen my son playing cards with his uncles and they use pennies or peanuts!!
    Clever use of the prompt.
    Mine is a bit sombre… But I also have an idea for carrying on with the lizard which is somewhat lighter.

  7. This is fun. I also think it is interesting that we both thought of cards (although different kinds of cards).

  8. Jean Mishra says:

    Ha! I really enjoyed all that tension and excitement packed into a mere 100 words. Great writing!

  9. judithatwood says:

    I was ready for anything, after the first sentence, except the way it actually ended. Fantastic. 😎

  10. Gilly Gee says:

    I was a pontoon kid – for Quality Street!

  11. Bod for tea says:

    I LOVE this! Great take on the prompt, competition in families can be fierce 😀

  12. Lynda says:

    You had me there. What a relief at the end!

  13. Judee says:

    This was such fun, and a nice “flip” at the end.

  14. Jonesingafter40 says:

    High stakes indeed! This made me smile!

  15. Father and son gambling? Smiles! A good way to get intimate with a son. It’s even better when some other values and virtues are not neglected. Nice piece!

  16. Now there’s a pair of good poker hands! It’s really hard when you’ve got a good hand but your opponent seems confident… all the more so when the stakes are high! 😉

  17. bonusparts says:

    First, thank you for Liking my own 100-word challenge entry.
    Second, I really enjoyed this! Very nice tense pacing at the beginning…I could feel the itchiness of that anxiety. And then the pay-off! Great! 🙂

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

