All She Ever Wanted

This post is part of the 100 word challenge over at Julia’s Place. Before I begin this week’s challenge, I’m going to apologise in advance to all the 100WCGU folk for any odd commenters they get on their blog. I seem to be growing quite a collection of commenting personas. Here, I’m Sally-Jayne, although if I forget to log out of my blog then sometimes I’m SJBwriting. Over at the children’s version of the 100WC I’m Sally-Jayne (Team 100WC), but my niece also takes part so when I comment on her writing I’m Aunty Sally-Jayne. I’m convinced that one of these days I’m going to forget where I am and comment using the wrong persona.  So if you should get a comment on your writing from Aunty Sally-Jayne, I promise you I’m not mad – just forgetful.

**********************************************************************************
Sir – I quit! You want to know why? Every year for birthdays and Christmases you bought her what she wanted: toys, dolls houses, a mobile phone, shoes, spray tans, manicures, her own stylist, a Porsche with chauffeur …but you never gave her what she needed: your time, your love, your attention, bedtime stories, family picnics, boundaries, discipline, a sense of responsibility…

And now you have the audacity to stand here, full of blame, asking me to explain why your six year old daughter has gone off the rails? I’m just the hired help. Take a look in the mirror, sir. The answer’s right there.

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to All She Ever Wanted

  1. jfb57 says:

    Very clever use of the prompt – putting in the sentence as you have S-J! This is such a great take on the whole thing and so well written. you can hear the anger in the speaker’s voice!

  2. This is so sad; I have known children like this with all the material goods imaginable, yet sadly lacking in love and attention.
    Great interpretation and beautifully executed. I tried poignant but couldn’t get it right.

  3. Love the voice of this character. So true, so sad, and so powerful!

  4. Mike says:

    A great story.
    So much anger and frustration coming across, though I fear ‘dad’ may not be listening.

  5. This is very interesting. It is sad and poignant, and could probably be said to many parents.

  6. ryan85 says:

    Well done. You’ve accurately diagnosed a huge issue in our society in the midst of playful fiction; so good. It reminded me a little of “The Help.”

  7. Poignant. Money can’t buy you love for sure. Great piece, SJ and has been said already, identifies a real issue in society.

  8. snagglewordz says:

    Hi Sally-Jayne, I really like the different direction you have taken with this prompt. This is one of my favourites this week. 🙂

  9. Lorely says:

    Oh Sally-Jayne, that’s brilliant! It made me laugh, but I like the underlying comment as well! Aren’t you clever!

  10. Judee says:

    Such truth in this. Well put.

  11. Really liked that, was surprised by the end line as had pictured a different boss/employee, nice twist 🙂

  12. buddhafulkat says:

    Well written and well said. Interesting perspective and so full of truth!

  13. Sadly that could be a true tale. Well done I like it 🙂

  14. gsussex says:

    A clear lesson here . . . expensive gifts are never the answer to what we all fundementally seek and value

  15. susankmann says:

    Very clever take on prompt but made me so sad. As a parent I know how important it is to spend time with your children. I was brought up the way you describe x

  16. DancingInTheRain says:

    Loved it. So very true. (But they never realise, do they?)

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

