Acceptance Speech

This post is part of the 100 word challenge at Julia’s place. When you’ve read this, why not visit 100WC and see what children can do with 100 words?

“…My first role was aged 5, when I acted the part of the tail end of an aeroplane in the school play. I was aghast when I was cast in that particular role – I felt even then that I was destined for greater things.

I’ve been dying to say this for a long time, and after 20 years I finally can: “Mrs Wilkins – see this Oscar? I told you I was good enough to play King Rudolfus!”

I want to thank Steven for taking the chance on me and casting me in Aquamarine. I want to thank Megan, my beautiful fiancée, for blah blah blah…”

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Acceptance Speech

  1. fireflyphil says:

    Made me chuckle – this is so REAL!

  2. Lynda Dixon says:

    I think we are going to get a wide variety this week. Our minds seem to be working in very different ways. This works really well – you are clearly experienced in writing acceptance speeches!

  3. Excellent! Never mind back end of the pantomime horse!
    Great stuff SJ!

  4. Sounds like a real acceptance speech! (Except for the blah, blahs. 🙂 )

  5. ventahl says:

    Ah, at last, a piece not involving crashing planes and deep melodrama, myself included ;P
    Noticed you and Duggy hit on the same movie title. Maybe portentious? It does sound like a Spielburg.
    Love the humble beginnings to full blown oscar. Hope Mrs wilkins was watching, although I suspect a lot of teachers practice reverse psychology. Hmmm?

    • ventahl says:

      And the only piece so far in comic style. Phew! 🙂

      • sjbwriting says:

        I hope Mrs Wilkins was watching too. I think it would be great to see your first teacher again and tell him or her exactly what an impact (good or bad) they made on your life. As for the style – you should expect it by now. I’m rubbish at seriousness and deep melodrama. I can only do light and fluffy.

  6. snellopy says:

    Nicely done, I can see someone hanging onto that bit of motivation and starting a career from it

  7. Given we are in Oscar season, made this even more enjoyable. “I want to thank Steven…” was particularly good and evocative of the A-List blarney. Brilliant.

  8. Taochild says:

    Nicely done! Pleasantly unexpected 😀

  9. Love it Sally Jayne; well done you. So glad that not all of them are plane crashes!
    It came across as a very credible acceptance speech (change the blah blahs to blub blubs and there you have Halle Berry to name but one sobbing star!!)
    Just read Dughalls too- what a great way to use the prompt. I would have to go to see a film called Aquamarine out of curiousity!

    • sjbwriting says:

      Think Dughall’s synopsis of a plot for a film of this name sounded quite plausible. Although if Tom Cruise was in it I might have to think twice about going. He’s not my favourite actor at the moment.

  10. Love the variation of the back end of a pantomime horse. Also, thanks for no plane crash – I’ve been in quuite enough of those today already.

  11. buddhafulkat says:

    Very funny. I enjoyed the transition from grade school to Oscars =)

  12. DancingInTheRain says:

    Love it. Great idea. Light-hearted but so true – even years later one always wants to prove those nasty teachers wrong…..

  13. Mrs TeePot says:

    Lol! I love the blah blah blah at the end! It’s very much what acceptance speeches consist of!

  14. Lorely says:

    I love it, Sally Jayne! Really nicely put together, and yes, it sounds precious enough to be real!

  15. Sweet! How lovely to be able to say “see I told you so!” 🙂

  16. ottabelle says:

    I thought this was cute, it gave me a laugh.

  17. jfb57 says:

    I wonder how many Oscar winners could make a similar speech!

  18. benzeknees says:

    Just reading back through some of the 100 Word Challenges to get some flavor for future weeks & came across this – what a great piece! The only thing which would have made it funnier would be if you used “Wha, wha, wha” for “Blah, blah, blah” as in Charlie Brown.

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

