Boxing

If you met me and tried to guess how I spend my time at the gym, your first guess probably wouldn’t be boxing. I’m not a violent person, really I’m not, in fact most people who meet me comment on how girly I am. But once I have my boxing gloves on, I get a sudden urge to start hitting things. I like the thwump that the gloves make on my trainer’s pads, or on the punch bag – it’s a really satisfying sound. And it’s great stress relief too!

I’ve tried more conventional ways of keeping fit, but I get bored on the treadmill, which equates to running on the spot. I’ve tried running on the streets but concrete is too hard and grass is too squelchy. I’ve tried aerobics (too much bouncing) and yoga (too much bending).

I enjoy dancing and I go once a week to a Latin and ballroom class. It’s fun but variety is the spice of life and I get bored easily so I looked around for something additional to do. I thought I’d found just the thing when I spotted an advert at my local gym for Zumba classes. Everybody was raving about it so I gave it a go. I went twice, and came out with ears ringing and a pounding head, and after suffering the noise my verdict was not dancey enough! A friend of mine has recently started running Zumba classes though, and as she’s a dancer and doesn’t feel that music has to make the walls vibrate for it to be motivational I’m thinking of giving her classes a go.

An advert for boxing caught my eye too, so I gave it a go and I haven’t looked back since. I LOVE it and I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of punching!

This entry was posted in Family Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

