The Book I Plan to Read Next

I can’t believe we have come to the end of the Friday Read. When I started there were so many categories to write about that it seemed the end would never come – a bit like those long hot summers when I was a child. But here we are, and this is the hardest one to write.

The book I plan to read next. Tough one, because I don’t plan. I’ve got lots of books on my shelf downstairs that are waiting patiently to be read, but I won’t decide which one will be next until I’m ready to start reading. Then I’ll take them off the shelf, reread the blurbs and pick.

So what are the possibilities? Well, sitting on my shelf right now are the first 4 Vampire Diaries in Spanish, and the 2nd-4th Twilight books in French. I like to read in French or Spanish from time to time to help me not lose the languages as I rarely get chance to speak them these days. I’ve also got Une Page d’Amour (Zola) to read, but it’s unlikely to be that because it’s one I bought in an uncharacteristic fit of enthusiasm from a second-hand bookshop, and as I said in a previous Friday Read post, I don’t really like second-hand books.

Staying within the fantasy genre, I also have a book by Dean Koontz on the “to-be-read” shelf, as well as a book by an author I’ve not read before which is about a Wizard PI.

Then I’ve got several thrillers by some of my favourite writers also sitting on that shelf: Harlan Coben, Michael Connelly, Robert Crais, Dennis Lehane and Tess Gerritsen. Plus a romantic thriller from Karen Rose – another favourite of mine.

I’ve got Wilkie Collins’ Man and Wife to read – not one of his better-known ones, but I’ve already read all of them, and several books by writers that I’ve never tried.

I had a £10 Amazon voucher delivered to my inbox today, so for me a more exciting question than what shall I read next is “what shall I buy next?”

This entry was posted in Reading and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Book I Plan to Read Next

  1. Ian Braisby says:

    But of course, at this time of year you will not be purchasing anything until after Father Christmas has been to visit!

  2. Han says:

    Tess Gerritsen – I knew I recognised the name! (I went and googled it to find the link) She created the characters of Rizzoli and Isles – mine and my Mum’s new favourite TV show lol. (Yup another to add to the list!)

    Twilight in French sounds interesting – I wanted to read Harry Potter in Italian as I would know what is happening but would still be able to practice reading Italian – newspapers are okay for practice but just depressing because they are all about the economy and politics at the moment.

    I’m reading “One Generation From Extinction” which is all about church youth work and the history of Sunday Schools (or at least that’s the bit I’m on at the moment!) and Breaking Dawn but I need to get to about half way before next Thursday when I go to see the film (or at least Part One) with my Aunt and my Cousin.

    A bientot mon amis 🙂

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

