Anya

Anya inserted her wrist, waited for the needle to click in her medication, then moved to the next hatch to pick up her tray. She hungrily spooned up the thin, grey liquid, wishing The Powers That Be would give them something juicier, chewier. Impossible, she knew. They weren’t allowed knives or forks anymore….not since Alik.

She briefly thought about rebelling, and returning to her pod instead of taking part in the compulsory exercise hour, but Kefu had been right the previous evening. Thinking was dangerous. She unwillingly followed the others into the yard. Dreams of rebellion were pointless. Punishment would be swift and harsh.

This post is part of the 100 Word Challenge for Grown-Ups at Julia’s Place.

The story continues with Halli. If you found your way here without reading the beginning, you may want to go back to Them and Us.

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Teen Fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Anya

  1. Steve says:

    Ooooh. Now this is the start (or maybe middle) of a very good story methinks!

  2. This is exciting and I want more. I always admire science fiction writers. That’s the one genre I don’t think I can do, but this is wonderful.

    • sjbteaching says:

      Thanks Lisa. I’ve written two more installments: “Halli” and “The Calling” . I haven’t decided whether or not to link them yet, but you’ll find them on the right hand side. I love science-fiction – it was probably my favourite genre when I was a teenager.

  3. Anna Halford says:

    Super piece Sally-Jayne. I always think that sci-fi is a tough nut to crack as it is easy for it to become too incredible. However, you have written a really clever piece here that has a menacing feel to it which make it edgy. Am going to have a look at the other parts now. Very effective writing. I am very glad I didn’t read anyone’s before I posted mine as they are all FAB this week. Mine is, how shall we say, light hearted!

    • sjbteaching says:

      I know what you mean – I never read the others first or I would be far too intimidated. Your writing is always fantastic though – and I really enjoyed your entry this week. Light-hearted is good!

  4. Alison Green says:

    Wow, another beautifully drafted story. I have yet to find the time to continue with another set of words.

  5. I love sci-fi, can’t wait to read the rest. Btw I have a few students who seem to concur that thinking is dangerous.

    • sjbteaching says:

      It seems there are quite a few people out there who also believe thinking is dangerous! If you want to read more, there are two more parts: “Halli” and “The Calling” you’ll find them in the menu on the right hand side.

  6. Dughall McCormick says:

    All that reading has certainly paid off! This has really captured the sci-fi genre. Good work!

  7. Him Up North says:

    I can’t say Kafka-esque again. Dystopian? Yep, definitely dystopian. Ballardian even.

  8. Not a fan of Sci-Fi, this piece went some way to changing that. A story that felt much longer than 100 words. Excellent.

  9. susankmann says:

    Excellent piece. I really enjoyed this and hope to read more. I know I wouldn’t want to eat that. x

  10. Andy wts says:

    And the darkness continues ….. definitely moodier than other weeks. I dunno, but something makes me think of the very first episode of blakes 7. Shaky sets, dodgy wardrobe but GR8 dialogue! And I love the genre, by the way! Gonna read the next one…

  11. jfb57 says:

    I’m really pleased that you have followed Sparks from last week to write a series & what a series it is turning into. I can picture the clinical, sterile scene and yet you have added warmth with the characters. Really looking forward to the next part. I’m thinking of where I think you will go – wonder if I’m right!

  12. Sally-Jayne says:

    I’m glad people like it. I was really unsure about linking the whole story, but I’ve had some really kind and encouraging feedback so I’ve just linked the 4th and final part.

  13. GSussex says:

    I was intrigued as to what direction this would take as it unfolded. It has great potential to be expanded into a series/full story

  14. Mrs TeePot says:

    oh that sounds like part of a cracking sci-fi novel! Something very “The Island” about it! Love it!

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

