Halli

She looked so peaceful as she slept, it was hard to believe there was anything wrong. The bruises from the horse-riding accident were already starting to fade, but Senex Markeson was explaining that the damage was internal. “Halli’s injuries will not be fatal, but she will never walk again, or breathe without this machine, and if she ever wakes up she will probably be blind.”

It was inconceivable that his only daughter, the apple of his eye, should be condemned to a living death. Wiping away a tear Senex Whitaker turned away. His only words were, “Save her.”

Senex Markeson nodded and gave the order.

This post is part of the 100 Word Challenge for Grown-Ups at Julia’s Place.

The story ends with The Calling. If you found your way here without reading the start, you might want to go back to Them and Us and Anya.

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Teen Fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Halli

  1. Anna Halford says:

    Well, that took me by surprise. How terrible to have to deal with all that. Great writing again. So much there in so few words, I want to know more! I’m not a huge sci fi fan but I love a good thriller and this is thrilling 🙂

  2. Susan Mann says:

    wow what powerful writing. You captured the sadness and horror of this existence perfectly. x

  3. Andy wts says:

    I think I can see where this is going. Clones for the rich. Have you seen ‘The Island’. So So film but chilling concept …. great build up, think I know whats going to happen …..

  4. jfb57 says:

    Goodness! I was not expecting this in your series this week. I was ready for some inter-galactic stuff. Really powerful writing here SJ. You could feel the father’s sadness & feeling of hopelessness.

  5. Sally-Jayne says:

    Thanks Julia. I really wanted to create a few twists and turns and keep people guessing. Andy-w-t-s has worked it out, but I’ve held his comment back so it doesn’t give it away to everyone else!

  6. Lorely says:

    Goodness – how sad! So few words, but they create a lot of emotion.

  7. GSussex says:

    This is really sad, with a ‘kick’ in more ways than one, well written!

  8. Lisa Wields Words says:

    Heartbreaking and wonderful. This is a powerful piece.

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

