Them and Us

“Have you ever wondered who The Powers That Be actually are?”

“They’re the ones in charge.”

“Yes but, there are about 150 of us here, and none of us are in charge. So who is?”

“They are.”

“I know, but I’ve never seen them. Have you?”

“Of course not. We must wait until it’s our time – until we are called.”

“Well I’m fed up of waiting. I want to know…so many things. Why are we here? What do you think happens to us when we are called?”

“I don’t think. And neither should you. Thinking is dangerous – The Powers That Be told us so.”

This post is part of the 100 Word Challenge for Grown-Ups at Julia’s Place.

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Teen Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Them and Us

  1. Colin Graham says:

    There’s something rather Orwellian about this… got me looking over my shoulder now!

  2. Dughall McCormick says:

    Oooo ominous! This is very thought-provoking and a little 1984 (amongst other things).
    I like it.

  3. Steve says:

    Love it! Those Powers That Be types hide so well!

  4. sjbteaching says:

    I loved 1984 and have to confess to a little Orwell influence here, but you’re right Dughall – there are a couple of other influences here as well.

  5. Andy wts says:

    I am not a number! Hey, its getting darker at SJB writing. Loving it, especially the ambiguity. 150 in … where? Something tells me those having the conversation might not be human? Ants or bees or something that sees US as the ‘Powers that Be”. As Gods. All sorts of possibilities here. And saw your cheeky FB comment ….. maybe I’ll do something on Saturday, only taking a 5min break now.
    ps wasn’t lost on me that it was ALL dialogue, still in last weeks mode? ;D

    • sjbteaching says:

      Still think I cheated a bit last week, so just proving I can write in dialogue only!

      You might be disappointed in the truth of this piece after your imagination has finished running wild – ants? bees?? Story continues in the next 3 posts.

  6. This is so perfect. Too many times people put faith in unseen Powers That Be which could turn out to be merely some puppet master playing cruel games. Maybe we need to learn to put more faith in ourselves.

  7. My first thought was to comment it was very 1984 but everyone has got there before me. Interesting thought provoking dialogue. Will we see more?

    • sjbteaching says:

      Thanks for your comments Ronnie. There are 3 more parts if you want to read them. Part 2 is Anya which is linked to the list. Parts 3 and 4 are “Halli” and “The Calling”. They’re not linked to the list, but you’ll find them in the menu on the right hand side.

  8. Alison Green says:

    A clever take on the prompt. … Powers That Be – nicely dark.

  9. Lynda says:

    Reminds me of a school I used to work in. No-one understood why but you just did what ‘they’ said! A great piece for evoking emotion and fear.

  10. I also thought Orwell but, on a lighter note, I also thought of those little green aliens in the machine at Pizza Planet in Toy Story 1. LOL

  11. Jim says:

    Waiting for Goddo meets 1984. Love the sinister ambiguity.

  12. Him Up North says:

    We’ve had 1984 and Orwellian. I’m going with Kafka-esque. Nice ton.

  13. “We’ve had 1984 and Orwellian. I’m going with Kafka-esque.”

    I’m going for *shudders*.

    Superb.

  14. Julia says:

    How intriguing! I love the under current of suspicion running through it!

  15. Bill Dameron says:

    Very intriguing Sally-Jayne. The dialogue works very well.

  16. susankmann says:

    Very intriguing and thought provoking. I really enjoyed this piece. x

  17. I also thought Orwell. The prompts were good this week. Like you I wrote more than one part, each one focusing on one of the three prompts.

  18. GSussex says:

    This works v well S-J reminds me or a number of films and books . . .

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

