What Makes Me Buy a Book?

The key word here is “buy”. I’m fussy about my books. I don’t like library books because I really don’t enjoy reading a book that someone else has read. When I read a book, I’m so careful with it that I rarely even leave a crease down the spine.

When I’m browsing in a bookshop it’s the title that catches my attention first. I like short titles – preferably one or two words, although anything up to four is acceptable. If it’s longer than that then I’m probably not even going to pick it up. Once I’ve taken it off the shelf I’ll read the blurb on the back, and if I like the sound of that then I read the first page to make sure I like the writing style. I’m sure for most people this would be enough, but I’m a touchy feely kind of a girl, so the book also has to feel nice in my hands.  Too flimsy, too heavy, too slippery, too grainy, and the book goes straight back on the shelf. I told you I was fussy…

This entry was posted in Reading and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Makes Me Buy a Book?

  1. Ian Braisby says:

    Very fussy! And of course, if buying you a book as a present the same kind of criteria have to be applied, which can be tough!

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

