Euro Meltdown Fear

Once again there were no holds barred as the stars tried to outdo each other at London Fashion Week. Pregnant Beyoncé sizzled in an on-trend asymmetric leopard print dress, teamed with brown suede Mary-Janes and a clutch in this season’s hottest colour: fire-engine red.

Tulisa showed how colour-blocking should be done, looking hot in a bold Alexander McQueen LRD, accessorised with nude Christian Louboutins and toughened up with a très-now black leather biker jacket.

But stealing the show was Lady Gaga, rocking a quirky dress made completely from four million pounds worth of European currency, sparking a Euro meltdown fear.

This post is part of the 100 Word Challenge for Grown-Ups at Julia’s Place.

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Euro Meltdown Fear

  1. Julia says:

    This is fabulous! How do you know all about the fashion world? I’m very impressed! Thank you so much for being a ‘fashion setter’ for this week’s prompt!

    • sjbteaching says:

      Julia – I know absolutely nothing about the fashion world, but that is still marginally more than I know about the world of economics, so there was no contest really. I’ve bluffed as much as I can, but if I get anyone with a genuine interest in fashion reading this, they’ll twig pretty quickly that I don’t know my Blahnicks from my Jimmy Choos! Thanks for the prompt though – it really made me get out of my comfort zone.

  2. Lynda says:

    Wow! That is a clever piece of writing. Your knowledge of the fashion market is mind-boggling!

  3. Steve says:

    I like your twist too! Well done!!

  4. Dughall McCormick says:

    Oh yes! Beautifully done! Plucked from the pages of… erm… you know, one of those magazines in the doctor’s waiting room.

    Seriously though, this is impressively authentic!

  5. says:

    I really like yours, too! 🙂 I need to lighten up — mine feels way to heavy now that I’ve read the first two entries.

  6. Anna Halford says:

    Very clever take on the prompt. Love it 🙂

  7. Alison Green says:

    So so clever – I bet Lady Gaga will do this if she reads your piece!

  8. Andy wts says:

    Best researched entry of yours so far. Blown away! Well constructed and utterly convincing. I’ll have to look up half of what you said! Of course, all that I know about fashion can be written on a stamp … in large writing. So bluff away to your hearts content …

    • sjbteaching says:

      You have enough knowledge of fashion to fill a stamp? That’s waaay more than I know…hence the need to research it first! Got a pile of marking to do, and then I’ll have a look at yours.

  9. PollyBurns2 says:

    Very clever! Wish I’d been able to think of something like this. I thought this challenge really difficult but this fits the bill perfectly.

  10. susankmann says:

    lol this is excellent. Well done. x

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

