A Book I’ve Been Told I Should Read But Never Will

Anyone who has already read my letter to Michael Gove will already know the answer to this one: Of Mice and Men.
Everyone I know who has read it says it’s a great book, but I just can’t bring myself to read it. When I was about 11 my English teacher was a huge Steinbeck fan, and so compulsory reading for my class was The Red Pony, followed by The Pearl. I hated them both. I hated them both so much that I swore I would never read anything by Steinbeck again. I never have. And I probably never will. Making any book compulsory reading (apart from on exam courses) is wrong, wrong, wrong.

This entry was posted in Reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Book I’ve Been Told I Should Read But Never Will

  1. Andy wts says:

    I’m glad you added the caveat in the last sentence or I might have said something 🙂

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

