The Book I’m Currently Reading

As is normal for me, I have more than one book on the go. First up is “Plea of Insanity” by Jilliane Hoffman, which is turning out to be a bit of a disappointment. The blurb on the back of the book sounds like my sort of story: a man accused of murder who is claiming to be mad. I love books about mad people! Unfortunately it’s turning into quite a slow read. The main problem, and it’s one I’ve criticised books for before, is characterisation – or rather the lack of it. The author writes from multiple viewpoints, but this means that each character doesn’t get developed very well, and as none of the characters seem to like each other very much, it also makes it hard for the reader to like them. I’ll persevere with this one as the story itself is quite good so far, but I don’t think I’ll be rushing to buy another book by this author.

Second up is “Fascination” – the French version of Twilight. Also slow going, probably because I’ve already read it in English, but I’ve bought the whole series in French so I wanted to break myself in gently with one I’d already read before throwing myself into the ones I haven’t.

Lastly is “Last Chance to See” which was a birthday present from some good friends. It’s non-fiction, so I can just dip in and out of it as the mood takes me. I’m enjoying it so far, and even though I’m not very far into it I’ve already learnt lots of interesting things, such as the difference between ‘poisonous’ and ‘venomous’. (I’ll tell you, but only if you ask me very nicely). Favourite quote from it so far is: “If the Amazon rainforest were in Britain, the Health and Safety Executive wouldn’t allow it.”

This entry was posted in Reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

