Easy Money?

This was going to be the easiest bet she’d ever won, Mary thought. An old, crooked house with wrought-iron gates and broken windows was too much of a cliché to be really haunted. She checked her watch. Only 6 hours to go before she could claim the £1000 stake. It was too cold to sleep, but she had a torch and a large supply of magazines. Snuggling into her sleeping bag she tried to concentrate on the fashion pages and ignore the sound of creaking floorboards.

The clock struck thirteen. That’s when she heard a scream from upstairs and her torch exploded.

This post is part of the 100 Word Challenge for Grown-Ups at The Head’s Office

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Easy Money?

  1. Andy wts says:

    I spy another SJ classic. Clock striking 13 – nice touch. This is more my scene, isn’t it? Tell me how it ends …..!

  2. Anna Halford says:

    Wow, that was a dramatic end. Never fancied the idea of spending the night in a haunted house…

    • sjbteaching says:

      Me neither! It doesn’t matter how many times my family tell me there’s no such thing as ghosts, I don’t believe them. I saw one once, and it frightened the life out of me!

  3. Sci-fi and Horror… another good post from you..

  4. Bill Dameron says:

    Doesn’t sound like that money was very easy, was it? Lovely story.

  5. GSussex says:

    With follow up comments quite a story . . . true to genre – scary and with horror. Well written (although I like Walt Disney endings myself!!!!)

    • sjbteaching says:

      I love horror, but I think it’s the hardest type of genre to end. I hate it when a book doesn’t resolve the problems because that just feels to me as if the writer didn’t really know what was going on either, and then I just feel cheated. But then if the ending is too weak I feel frustrated and feel that I wasted my time reading it.

  6. Julia says:

    Oh you teasing girl! I was settling down to read as well. It was the thirteenth stike that got me! Great writing!

  7. Susan Mann says:

    oooh very spooky. This is very well written and the building up of suspense, very well done. Can we read more? x

    • sjbteaching says:

      Thanks Susan. I’ve written a summary of how the story ends a bit higher up the comments. I think it’s more of a novel than a short story, but maybe I’ll write it one day.

  8. says:

    Loved it! The clock striking thirteen is a chilling touch. (Know it’s been said, but I just had to say it again!)

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

