Wedding Day

She knew she had put on weight, but she didn’t realise how much until the dress wouldn’t fasten. Angrily she yanked the zip, breaking a nail and ripping the expensive fabric. Mel should have been here to help, but she had called earlier to explain that she had a migraine and couldn’t leave the house.

Arriving at the church, with her dress held together by safety pins, she was met by a worried looking Henry. “Steve won’t come. He says he’s changed his mind.”

Ripping off her veil, she used it to wipe away her tears. The sun shone, but the bride didn’t notice.

This post is part of the 100 Word Challenge for Grown-Ups at The Head’s Office

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Wedding Day

  1. Jodie Smith says:

    Wow, powerful stufff! Look forward to reading more entries.

  2. Poor thing! Aw, I almost feel her pain! Disasterous day or what. I love reading these challenges, so many different interpretations :O)

    • sjbteaching says:

      As soon as I read the prompt a wedding day gone wrong popped into my head. Like you I love to see what the prompts mean to other people.

  3. Han says:

    That’s so sad 😦

  4. Ross Mannell says:

    Cad! To leave a bride at the church is despicable. Solace should come to the bride in the end when she realises she is better off without someone unreliable. Great story.

  5. Anna Halford says:

    this is such a sad story. Great interpretation of the prompt-still thinking about what I am going to write about…

    • sjbteaching says:

      I think we’re all writing on sad themes this week, except “A Good Day for a Smile” (9th on the list) which was lovely and positive. Look forward to reading yours when it’s finished.

  6. says:

    Such a sad day… that trouble with her dress a seeming portent of her rapidly changing future. The ending was a surprise for me. I felt that kick in the stomach, as she must have. I like how you crafted this!

    • sjbteaching says:

      Thanks. I actually wrote this backwards. When I read the prompt I knew exactly how that sentence was going to end, and that I wanted it to end the piece. So it was the beginning that was the surprise for me – when I sat down to write I had no idea where her story began.

  7. Alysonsblog says:

    really good I pick up the frustration and anxiety in the writing – really great x

  8. Bill Dameron says:

    So well done. In 100 words you explored so may relationships and emotions. But consistent throughout.

  9. Julia says:

    Oh gosh how sad. I was there with the weight gain – always a concern of mine. Thank you so much for joining this weekly get-together. Hope to see you next week!

    • sjbteaching says:

      Gaining weight and not fitting into my dress was my biggest worry in the run up to my own wedding….and the more I worried the more I ate! Luckily mine fitted a lot better than the girl in this piece

  10. GSussex says:

    Jolly, heart renching stuff! Very good description . . . we were all feeling for the bride!

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

