Murder at the Museum

Detective Andrews polished his bottle-bottom glasses and crouched down to peer more closely at the corpse. It was lying face down on the tiled floor. He felt for a pulse, just to make sure. The body was cold and stiff. Rigor-mortis had already set in.
“A most heinous crime – and in such a public place!” he exclaimed. Reaching for his phone he speed dialed 2 for his forensics team.
“Jake?”
“Hmm?”
“It’s a sculpture.”
“What?”
“It’s not a corpse. It’s a sculpture.”
Feeling very foolish, Jake Andrews terminated his call, took his wife’s hand and hurried out of the museum.

This post is part of the 100 Word Challenge for Grown-Ups at The Head’s Office

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Murder at the Museum

  1. Lynda says:

    I love it! I really like writing where it starts very seriously and ends with a chuckle. Made me smile!

  2. Lisa (Woman Wielding Words) says:

    Oh, you had me going. I was very into what happened to the corpse. Then wham! 😀 How fun.

  3. Julia says:

    Oh this is such fun!! I love it & can see that face blushing. Thank you so much for sharing your humour on the 100WCGU!

  4. sjbteaching says:

    Thanks Julia. I’m glad you can see the blush – I knew it was there but didn’t have enough words for it.

  5. says:

    I just love this! It was such fun, I wish it was longer. Very good story told in so few words. Great job!

  6. Andy wts says:

    ‘bottle bottoms’ – neat, now I know why he was so taken in, AND his wife let him humiliate himself, hilarious!

  7. Bill Dameron says:

    This one made me laugh out loud! Excellent story in 100 words.

  8. Anna Halford says:

    Great piece; this was a challenging picture and I loved your interpretation.

  9. gsussex says:

    Love the twist at the end and the humour created!

  10. Alex Duncan says:

    This was funny, started off like the Da Vinci code, ended up like the return of the Pink Panther! Brilliant.

    • sjbteaching says:

      Thanks for reading. Really wish I could take the credit for the humour, but it was just the result of my brain taking a fact and following it to it’s logical conclusion.

  11. Han says:

    Oh dear that’s embarrassing! Good story Sally 🙂

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

