Destiny

There was a ripple in the air, and suddenly there was a young woman in front of him, where a moment ago there had been no-one. Her silvery clothes were evocative of a 1960s sci-fi film. Over her head were dark, brooding clouds, and behind her smoking piles of rubble. Like a mirror in reverse, his side had blue skies and sunshine, and a lilting stream.

“I mean you no harm,” she said. “Please don’t suspect anything untoward, but only you can help us now. He nodded slowly. It was time to fulfil his destiny. Without a backward glance he stepped through the time portal.

This post is part of the 100 Word Challenge for Grown-Ups at The Head’s Office

This entry was posted in Flash Fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Destiny

  1. Richard says:

    The muddy lake rippled as it swallowed the Mitsubishi Evo. Cat (I’ve no idea of his real name) was clearly drunk, and had wandered off the road, blindly following his satnav.

    Cat waded to dry ground and casually extracted his mobile phone with which he called a mechanic.

    The rescue truck arrived, driven by a dwarf and his wife. “Hey, hun, tow ‘arder”, he shouted to his brooding assistant, unable to shift the car from its muddy grave. Throwing the switch further, the crashed car’s chassis played a lilting soliloquy on the ground.

  2. Julia says:

    Thank you so much for joining this week’s 100WCGU! You have s-t-r-e-t-c-h-e-d the rules though (naughty, naughty!) You have to use the words given not preferred!

    I love this piece. It has a lot of potential for a more extended piece I think., Is that the intention?

    • sjbteaching says:

      Oops! I didn’t realise that was cheating. I promise to behave next time! I’ve also has a word with the people who hijacked my entry and pointed them to your page.
      Hadn’t really thought about an extended piece – I just stumbled across the challenge and thought, “Why not?” I’ll see what next week’s challenge is and take it from there.

  3. Bill Dameron says:

    I can see this scene so clearly in my mind and especially like the “mirror in reverse” statement. So much said in so few words.

  4. says:

    This is an interesting beginning to a sci-fi story. It makes me wonder what her world is like and how he knows that she is right.

  5. sjbteaching says:

    Thank you for reading. I’m really pleased that it has made someone wonder about the characters.

  6. Susan Mann says:

    What a great take on the prompt, I love the ending and want to know more.

  7. sjbteaching says:

    Thanks Susan. I hadn’t really thought of it as an extended piece, but I’m starting to think that maybe I will.

Please leave a comment so I know I'm not just talking to myself.

